Judging this year's Awards were a panel of representatives from our supporting partners together with Visa, our lead sponsor. Judges visited all 38 shortlisted high streets, assessing each one based on their original entry against four pillars of success: Community, Customer Experience, Environment and Digital Transformation.

Alan Thornburrow

Alan delivers Business in the Community’s strategy in Scotland, working across the public, private and third sectors to support inclusive economic growth and the UN’s Global Goals. He is passionate about the role of business in society.


Alex Schlagman

Alex Schlagman is a serial entrepreneur who co-founded and is a coordinated industry-wide movement powered by high street shopkeepers and supporters across the UK. is the digital assistant for local businesses.


Andrew McRae

Policy Chair, Federation of Small Business

Chartered Architect and Policy Chair for the Federation of Small Business, Andrew McRae is one of Edinburgh’s most prominent independent retailers. His shop in the Old Town is a magnet for Harry Potter fans across the world.


Aodhan Connolly

Aodhán Connolly is the Director of the Northern Ireland Retail Consortium (NIRC), the leading trade body for retail in Northern Ireland. Aodhán has a particular interest in high street regeneration and marketing.


Brigid Simmonds OBE

Chief Executive of the British Beer & Pub Association

Brigid has been in her current role since 2009 and is a member of the Government’s High Streets Forum and Director of the Tourism Alliance. This is her 4th time judging these awards.


Chris Savage

Projects Manager, NMTF

Chris leads on marketing, markets intelligence, business support, start-up schemes and partnership programmes at the NMTF and coordinates the delivery of the Mission for Markets campaign.


Colin Neill

Chief Executive Hospitality Ulster

Colin Neil MBA is the CEO of Hospitality Ulster, a Board member of Tourism Northern Ireland and Chair of the TNI Audit & Risk Committee.


Dan Whytock

Co-Founder & Managing Director

With a love of tech, Dan started his journey working on local market stalls, progressing to selling chip & pin payment facilities to independent shops and now focuses on retail tech as MD of


David Chapman

Executive Director, HospitalityCymru

David is Executive Director of HospitalityCymru, the Wales arm of UKHospitality, the association representing hospitality businesses including Hotels, Restaurants, Pubs, Brewers and more. A former journalist, he’s an experienced communications and public affairs specialist consultant.


Edward Cooke

Chief Executive of Revo

Ed has held a number of senior roles in companies including BCSC and the British Retail Consortium. He is also a regular contributor to government working groups including the Future High Streets Forum.


Glyn Roberts

CEO Retail Northern Ireland

Glyn has been Chief Executive of Retail NI since January 2008 after seven years as Head of Parliamentary Affairs with the Federation of Small Businesses in Northern Ireland. He is also Chair of Recycle NI.


Graham Wilson

CEO of National Association of British Market Authorities

Graham has been helping raise the profile of markets nationally and internationally, making them a key component of revitalising High Streets. In 2012 he was awarded an OBE for services to retail markets.


Hannah Sloggett

Co-director Nudge Community Builders

Hannah is Co-director of Nudge Community Builders, bringing empty buildings back into use for long term local benefit in her local community. She is passionate about local people and businesses making a difference to where they live.


Ian Fletcher

Director of Policy (Real Estate) at the British Property Federation

Ian has held roles at the British Property Federation and British Chambers of Commerce, representing both property owners and small businesses. He has also helped to promote and establish the UK’s Build-to-Rent sector.


James Lowman

CEO Association of Convenience Stores

James has been ACS chief executive since 2006, focusing on representing the interests of local shops to government and improving the understanding of the convenience sector.


Jane Pritchard

Enterprise & Culture Director at Business in the Community

Jane is Enterprise & Culture Director at Business in the Community. Previously, Jane worked in marketing for some of the UK's leading consultancies on a number of programmes and initiatives to aid local economic regeneration.


John Martin

A business owner of over 20 years and Chairman of Pitshanger Village Traders' Association, John led the campaign which saw Pitshanger Lane crowned GBHS London category winner 2015/16.


Johnny Hayes

Johnny Hayes MBE was Chairman of Bishy Road Traders Association which won the Great British High Street Award in 2015. Johnny actively encourages improving high streets and is an Independent Councillor for City of York Council.


Kate Nicholls

CEO UKHospitality

Kate Nicholls was appointed CEO of UKHospitality, the powerful voice representing the broad hospitality sector, in April 2018, having previously worked as CEO & Strategic Affairs Director of the ALMR, trade body for high street eating and drinking out.


Martin Austin

Managing Director, Nimbus Disability

Martin is Managing Director and Founder of Nimbus Disability, a consultancy service working across a range of industries providing practical and tangible support in meeting and exceeding legal obligations toward disabled people.


Mark Williams

President of Revo

Mark is currently President of Revo, Director of Hark and past Chairman of the Governments distressed retail property taskforce. Prior to joining Hark, Mark ran DTZ's (now Cuhsmans) retail and leisure business in the UK and mainland Europe.


Ojay McDonald

Chief Executive of the Association of Town & City Management

In his current role, Ojay works with Government Ministers and business leaders across the UK and Ireland on a range of policy issues including tax reform, local government finance and retail and urban regeneration.


Peter de Souza

Head of Business Development UK and IE

Peter has 20 years of experience as a senior business development professional, in payment and marketing technology companies, focussed on innovative solutions that help SME’s grow their businesses.


Peter Langley

Representative, Revo Scotland Committee

Property and Asset manager involved in managing shopping centres and major new town developments in the UK. Founding chairman of Revo Scotland and involved in representing Glasgow City Centre retail and the first Glasgow BID.


Sally-Anne Watkiss

After 25 years working for a FTSE 100 financial services company, Sally-Anne is now semi-retired and is a Non-Executive Director of several Social Enterprises. She is the Treasurer of Homebaked a community-owned bakery and cafe based in Anfield.


Simon Quin

Director, Institute of Place Management

Director and Visiting Professor at Institute of Place Management, Manchester Metropolitan University. Former CEO of ATCM and Town Centre Manager in Romford and Reading, Simon has been working with high streets for over 25 years.


Woodrow Kernohan

Woodrow Kernohan is the Director of John Hansard Gallery, part of the University of Southampton and Arts Council England’s National Portfolio. In May 2018, the Gallery relocated to its new home in Southampton’s Cultural Quarter.


Vin Vara

President of the British Independent Retailers Asscoiation

Vin has been an independent retailer for over 35 years and National President of the British Independent Retailers Association (BIRA) 2016-18. He has served as Chairman of BIRA direct and on the Legal & Parliamentary Affairs Committee.